Events Archive

April 9, 2009
Environmental Policy Forum Spring Symposium
Indiana State Energy Policy: Progress and Prospects for Legislation

Speaker: Professors Cole and Dannenmaier and other experts in environmental law
Time: Noon - 5:30 pm
Location: Inlow Hall
Contact:, 317-274-9428

This year's Environmental Policy Forum Spring Symposium will examine "Indiana State Energy Policy: Progress & Prospects for Legislation" featuring Professors Dan Cole and Eric Dannenmaier, as well as other environmental law experts. April 9, noon - 5:30 p.m. 4.5 Hours of Indiana CLE credit. Free and open to the public. Registration required at or 317-274-9428. View Flyer



12:00-1:15, Wynne Courtroom, Room 100


Dean Gary R. Roberts

Keynote speakers:

“Prospects for Legislation in the Current Term” Representative Win Moses, Senator Brandt Hershman, David Pippen

Panel ONE:

1:30-2:45, Room 259


Clean Coal & Carbon Sequestration (Moderator, Prof. Daniel H. Cole)

John Rupp, Ken Richards, J.C. Randolph, Kay Pashos, & Senator Hershman

Panel TWO:

3:00-4:15, Room 259


Renewable Energy (Moderator, Prof. Eric Dannenmaier)

Jesse Kharbanda, Melanie Price, Rep. Ryan Dvorak

Panel THREE:

4:30-5:30, Room 259


Energy Conservation & Green Buildings (Moderator, Ashleigh Hall)

Rep. Terri Austin, Senator Mike Delph, Senator Beverly Gard (invited), Senator James Merritt (invite), Matt Auer



    • Representative Ryan Dvorak, Chair, House Environmental Affairs Committee
    • Representative Win Moses, Jr., Chair, House Commerce, Energy, Tech & Utilities Committee
    • Representative Terri Austin, Member of House Roads and Transportation Committee
    • Senator Brandt Hershman, Member, Senate Energy & Environmental Affairs Committee
    • Senator Karen Tallian (invited), Member, Senate Energy & Environmental Affairs Committee
    • Jesse Kharbanda, Executive DirectorHoosier Env Council
    • Professor Daniel H. Cole, R. Bruce Townsend Professor of Law, Indiana University School of Law - Indianapolis
    • Professor Eric Dannenmaier,Professor of Environmental Law, Indiana University School of Law - Indianapolis
    • John Rupp, Assistant Director of Research, Indiana Geological Survey
    • Senator Beverly Gard (invited), Chair, Senate Energy & Environmental Affairs Committee
    • Senator Mike Delph, Member, Senate Agriculture & Small Business Committee
    • Senator James Merritt, (invited), Chair, Senate Utilities & Technology Committee
    • Senator Sue Errington (invited), Member Senate Energy & Environmental Affairs Committee
    • David Pippen,(invited), Policy Director for Env & Natural Resources, IN Governor’s Office
    • Melanie Price, Assistant General Council, Duke Energy
    • Kay Pashos, Baker & Daniels
    • Professor Ken Richards, Associate Director, Lugar Center for Renewable Energy
    • Professor J.C. Randolph, Director, Center for Research in Energy & the Environment
    • Professor Matt Auer, Professor, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University

    Location: Indiana University School of Law - Indianapolis, 530 West New York Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202

    Parking: Parking is available for a nominal fee at the Sports Complex garage, 875 W. New York Street, 2 blocks west of Inlow Hall.