IU McKinney Hosts Moot Court Competition


Teams from law schools across the nation visited the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law March 14 and 15 for the third annual National Professional Responsibility Moot Court Competition (NPRMCC). Teams competed in class rooms and the Wynne Courtroom at the law school Friday evening and Saturday morning, with the event culminating in the championship argument that took place in the Indiana Supreme Court courtroom at the Statehouse. The winning team was from the University of Mississippi School of Law.

IU McKinney does not participate in the competition and instead serves as the host school. Members of the NPRMCC Board at IU McKinney include:

  • Jeramy Ferguson: Chief Justice, Problem Designer, and CLE presenter
  • Adam Ira: Problem Designer, CLE presenter, Baillif
  • Kyle Cray: Judge Recruitment
  • Marilyn Park: Event Planner
  • Shruti Sharma: Finances/Budget
  • Cameron Huffman: Brackets/Rules/Scorekeeper

IU McKinney Professors Frank Sullivan, Jr., and Margaret Tarkington, and Judge Tim Oakes, ’91, of Marion Superior Court, served as judges for the final round of the competition. Professor Joel Schumm, ’98, assisted with judging a preliminary round of the competition, and Professor Jim Dimitri served as scorekeeper. Professor Allison Martin is the faculty advisor for the law school’s Moot Court Society.

Share |


« All Headlines