Congratulations to McKinney Law Alumni on General Election Wins


A large number of IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law alumni and students were elected or re-elected in the general election November 6, 2012. Most notably among them are Mike Pence, ’86, who was elected to the Indiana governor’s office, defeating John Gregg, ’84. Also re-elected to state offices were Senator Brandt Hershman, a third-year evening division student and director of the law school’s Program on Educational Outreach for Government Leaders, and House Speaker Brian C. Bosma, ’84. Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David, ’82, was retained on the bench.

In the U. S. Congress, Susan Brooks, ’85, was elected to the House of Representatives, where she will represent District 5. Todd Rokita, ’95, was re-elected to represent House District 4; and Todd Young, ’06, was re-elected to represent House District 9.

“The importance of the McKinney School to the leadership of Indiana was reaffirmed Tuesday night,” said Dean Gary Roberts. “Come January, McKinney alumni or students will include the Governor, the Chief Justice (and three of the five Supreme Court justices), the Speaker of the House, the Majority Leader in the Senate, one U.S. Senator, and three U.S. Representatives – a virtual clean sweep of Indiana’s political leadership. And this does not include the dozens more who will serve in the General Assembly, in local offices, or in judgeships. The School is immensely proud of the contributions that it and its alumni make to this state and the country.”

Share |


« All Headlines