IU McKinney Law to Offer Junior Faculty Workshop


The Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law will conduct its second annual Junior Faculty Workshop on Intellectual Property Issues in the Pharmaceutical Industry December 7-8, 2012. The workshop focuses on the wide range of intellectual property issues as they relate to the pharmaceutical industry and offers an opportunity for untenured scholars to present their draft scholarship for in-depth critique and commentary by respected senior scholars in the field.

“We are very fortunate this year to be able to use the Junior Faculty Workshop to look at an area of intellectual property that is particularly important, not only in terms of innovation and the economy but also healthcare,” said Professor Emily Michiko Morris, one of the organizers of the workshop. “The pharmaceutical industry is one in which intellectual property rights are thought to be particularly successful, and yet so many issues remain. How can the law continue to support pharmaceutical innovation while simultaneously lowering healthcare costs and expanding access to medicines? This year's workshop brings together some of the most noted scholars in the field with those just beginning to make their mark, for what promises to be an intensive and careful examination of a variety of pressing topics.”

The following junior scholars have been selected to participate, based on the match between their proposed papers and the theme of this year’s workshop:

  • Yaniv Heled (Asst. Professor, Georgia State University College of Law): Regulatory Competitive Immunities—The Newest Kind of Intellectual Property
  • Benjamin Liu (Asst. Professor and Dir., Chinese IP Resource Ctr., The John Marshall Law School): Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement, China Myth, and the Globalization of Patent Linkage
  • Liza Vertinsky (Assoc. Professor, Emory University School of Law): Making Knowledge and Making Drugs? Experimenting with University Innovation Capacity
  • Jacob Rooksby (Asst. Professor, Duquesne University School of Law): Innovation and Litigation: Tensions Between Universities and Patents and How to Fix Them
  • Emily Michiko Morris (Assoc. Professor, Indiana University McKinney School of Law): Patent Exclusivity Versus Regulatory Exclusivity Under the Hatch-Waxman Act

The following scholars will join the workshop as commentators:

  • Rebecca S. Eisenberg , Robert and Barbara Luciano Professor of Law, University of Michigan Law School
  • Cynthia M. Ho , Clifford E. Vickrey Research Professor and Director, Intellectual Property and Technology Program, Loyola University Chicago School of Law
  • Jay P. Kesan , Professor, H. Ross & Helen Workman Research Scholar, and Director, Program in Intellectual Property & Technology Law, University of Illinois College of Law, Urbana-Champaign
  • Kevin Outterson , Associate Professor and Co-director of the Health Law Program, Boston University School of Law, and Associate Professor of Health Law, Bioethics, and Human Rights, Boston University School of Public Health
  • Christopher M. Holman , Associate Professor, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law

Professor Nic Terry is the Colloquium Committee Chair. Also chairing the event are Associate Dean for Research Gerard Magliocca, and Professor Morris.

Share |


« All Headlines