Student Organization Award Honorees Announced


The inaugural Student Organization Awards ceremony was held on March 27, 2013, in the atrium, hosted by the Office of Student Affairs.

Winners were:

Best new student organization: Student Outreach Clinic. This student-run legal clinic provides free legal information to the underserved population through a partnership between first-year law students and Indiana Legal Services.

Best collaboration: Diversity Alumni Reception, sponsored by the Black Law Students Association and the Hispanic Law Society. The award is for the program that best demonstrates how meaningful partnerships, teamwork, and synergy can make an impact on the law school or the law school community.

Best service project: Women’s Caucus, for their annual silent auction. This year’s event raised $8,729 to benefit the Hoosier Burn Camp. The funds raised will enable eight children to attend the camp, and will help sponsor events hosted by the organization throughout the year.

Advisor of the year: Professor Lahny Silva for her work with the Black Law Students Association. The award recognized an advisor that best encourages, mentors, and supports a student organization and its members.

Outstanding student leader of the year: Nabeela Virjee, vice president of the Student Bar Association. The award recognized the student who has made significant contributions to enhancing the law school community in a positive way, often going above and beyond the call of duty.

Student organization of the year: Black Law Students Association. The award recognizes the student organization that has made the most significant impact in the IU McKinney community through service, programs, and activities.

Share |


« All Headlines