Schwier Named a Recipient of the Distinguished Master's Thesis Award for 2013


Ryan Schwier, first-year evening student at the IU McKinney School of Law, has been selected by the Midwest Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) as one of two recipients of the 2013 Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award. The annual award is open to nominations from over 100 universities across 14 states for scholarship and research in any discipline that makes an “unusually significant contribution” to the field. Schwier will present his thesis at the MAGS Annual Conference in Minneapolis on April 10, 2013.

Schwier was previously selected by the Indiana University Graduate School as the recipient of Esther L. Kinsley Master’s Thesis Award. His study examines the history of Indian-settler legal relations in Indiana from the state’s pre-territorial period to the late 19th century. His thesis committee was chaired by Associate Professor of History Elizabeth Brand Monroe, ’02; Professor of History David J. Bodenhamer; and IU McKinney Law Professor Gerard N. Magliocca, who also serves as associate dean for research at the law school.

Share |


« All Headlines