2013 Past Headlines

IU McKinney Students, Faculty, Alumni Receive ISBA and IBF Awards at Annual Meeting


Several alumni, a professor, and a student organization of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law received accolades during the Indiana State Bar Association’s (ISBA) annual meeting in October. In addition, two alumni were elected to the ISBA Board of Governors, and one was appointed as ISBA's secretary.

Professor Carlton Waterhouse and the IU McKinney School of Law Chapter of the Black Law Students Association have been named recipients of the Rabb Emison Award for their work to increase diversity in the legal profession. Each year, the ISBA’s Diversity Committee choses one individual and one organization to receive the honors.

Professor Waterhouse was recognized for his work organizing the partnership IU McKinney has with Shortridge Magnet School for Law and Public Policy, the goal of which is to prepare students for their roles as citizens while exploring legal and social justice careers. The decision to name Professor Waterhouse as the recipient of the award in the individual category was unanimous on the part of the ISBA’s Diversity Committee.

The IU McKinney Chapter of BLSA was honored in the organization category for the group’s work with the ISBA Diversity Committee to host the inaugural Diversity and Alumni Reception that was held on February 23, 2013.

Three IU McKinney alumni were given Presidential Citation Awards. The citations recognize lawyers and judges for their contributions to the profession and to the citizens of Indiana. John Maley, ’88, a partner at Indianapolis law firm Barnes & Thornburg; Amy Noe, ’00, of Amy Noe Law in Richmond; and John Trimble, ’81, a partner at Indianapolis law firm Lewis Wagner, received the citations.

The ISBA’s Latino Affair’s Committee presented its Trailblazer/Abriendo Caminos Award to Vanessa Villegas Lopez, ’03, a sole practitioner at Lopez Law Office in Indianapolis. The award recognizes the outstanding achievements, commitment and leadership of a lawyer that has paved the way for the advancement of other Latino attorneys and/or the Latino community.

Judge Michael D. Keele, ’82, received a Civility Award from the ISBA’s Litigation Section. The awards are in recognition of Indiana attorneys and judges who demonstrate outstanding civility and professionalism in their dealings with judges, attorneys, parties, witnesses and the public. Judge Keele is in the Civil Division of the Marion Superior Court.

Isaac Willett, ’05, received the Pro Bono Publico Award from the Indiana Bar Foundation during the Randall T. Shepard Award Reception, held during the ISBA’s annual meeting. Willett was recognized for his service with the Indiana Health Advocacy Coalition (IHAC) and the Medical-Legal Partnership (MLP) at Wishard Health Services. MLPs provide resources to patients with health care needs that require social services solutions. Willett created the Wishard MLP’s first pro bono guardianship program. In addition, he is a board member and current president of IHAC, which supports the development and growth of central Indiana MLPs. Willett is an associate on the health and life sciences team at Faegre Baker Daniels.

Elected to the ISBA’s Board of Governors were Tonya J. Bond, ’04; and Terry Tolliver, ’00. Bond is a partner at the Indianapolis law firm Plews Shadley Racher & Braun. Tolliver is deputy director of the Consumer Protection Division in the Office of the Indiana Attorney General.

Robyn M. Rucker, '02, was appointed to a one-year term as secretary of ISBA. Rucker is the director of career advising at Valparaiso University School of Law. Previously, she was an attorney at the Indiana Supreme Court where she coordinated the Indiana Conference for Legal Education Opportunity. She also served as a deputy attorney general at the Office of the Indiana Attorney General.

Share |


« All Headlines