2013 Past Headlines

IU McKinney Announces February and March Faculty Colloquium Speakers


The Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law announces its line-up of colloquium speakers for February and March 2014. These speakers will present their scholarship at a regularly occurring lunch-time session.

Wendy Netter EpsteinFebruary 4: Wendy Netter Epstein, assistant professor of law at DePaul University College of Law. Epstein’s teaching and research interests focus on contracts, commercial law and health care law. Her scholarship bridges the divide between theory and practice and utilizes an interdisciplinary approach. She draws on her personal experience as a partner at a large law firm and considers the application of contract theory to real world scenarios, focusing on mismatches between theory and practice.

Margaret RyznarFebruary 11: Margaret Ryznar, associate professor of law and Dean’s Fellow at Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law. Ryznar teaches and researches in the areas of family law, tax, trusts and estates, property, and juvenile law. Her scholarship focuses on the rights of family members under federal and state law, with particular emphasis on how family members hold and transfer property among themselves. She edits the Family Law Prof Blog and is a contributor to the Huffington Post

Mary Beth BeazleyFebruary 19: Mary Beth Beazley, associate professor of law, Director of Legal Writing at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law. Beazley joined Ohio State in 1988 after serving as co-director of the Legal Research, Writing, and Reasoning Program at Vermont Law School and as a research and writing instructor at the University of Toledo. She teaches Writing and Analysis, Appellate Advocacy, and Advanced Legal Writing, and she has coached the National Moot Court Team for many years.

Florence Wagman RoismanMarch 11: Florence Wagman Roisman, William F. Harvey Professor of Law at the IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law. Professor Roisman teaches courses in property, the civil rights movement, housing discrimination and segregation, administrative law, real estate finance, housing and development law, comparative housing law, and homelessness and the law. She received with the M. Shanara Gilbert Human Rights Award from the Society of American Law Teachers in January.

Donna NagyMarch 25: Donna Nagy, Interim Executive Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and C. Ben Dutton Professor of Law, Indiana University Maurer School of Law. Nagy teaches and writes in the areas of securities litigation, securities regulation, and corporations. Prior to teaching, she was an associate with Debevoise & Plimpton in Washington, D.C., specializing in securities enforcement and litigation. She was named interim executive associate dean for academic affairs in August 2013.

Michael Hunter SchwartzMarch 27: Michael Hunter Schwartz, Dean and Professor of Law, William H. Bowman School of Law, University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Schwartz is generally regarded as one of the leading experts on law teaching, learning, assessment and curriculum design in the United States. He has trained dozens of law teachers in the United States as well as the Republic of Georgia, Iran, Turkey, and Chile. His contracts course recently was honored by the Educating Tomorrow’s Lawyers Project as a model course reflecting “exemplary innovative teaching.”

These events are open to all law school faculty, staff, and administration. Students, alumni, and friends with a particular interest may attend if space is available and are encouraged to contact Faith Long at 317-274-1913. All events will be held in the law school’s Faculty Lounge, Room 351, beginning at 12:30 p.m.

Share |


« All Headlines