2013 Past Headlines

IU McKinney Team Advances to Semifinals of Moot Court Competition


IU McKinney Evans Moot Court StudentsIU McKinney students Adam Eakman and Graham Youngs took part in the 2014 Evan A. Evans Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition March 28-30 at the University of Wisconsin Law School in Madison, Wisconsin. The team was coached by Abebe Dashew.

Eakman (In the photo at left) and Youngs competed against 23 teams, including teams from New York University School of Law and the reigning competition champions from IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law. 

Participants argued the case In Re: Grand Jury Subpoenas to Eva Tejón Dated June 24 and June 27, 2013. Eakman briefed and argued the first issue regarding whether there is a reporter’s privilege under the First Amendment that grants a journalist the right to refuse to cooperate with a grand jury investigation in order to protect her confidential source. Youngs argued the second issue: whether a journalist may invoke the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination in her refusal to produce the decrypted contents of a laptop computer.

The McKinney team was one of only eight to move from preliminary rounds to the quarterfinals and one of only four law schools to advance to the semifinals. The McKinney team’s run ended in front of a five-judge panel in the semifinal round on March 30. Eakman and Youngs lost to the team from IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law by just 0.4 points to be eliminated from championship contention. 

The competition is named for Judge Evan A. Evans, an 1899 graduate of the University of Wisconsin Law School who served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit from 1916 to 1948. During his years of private practice, Judge Evans was noted for both his brief-writing and his outstanding oral advocacy skills.

Share |


« All Headlines